A 45-minute tour with the architect, Moshe Shapira, who is in charge of the renovation and restoration of the secret tunnel that connected Mount Zion with the western part of the city during the period that Jerusalem was divided (1948-1967). The tunnel, which extends from Yemin Moshe to Mount Zion, was dug by the army for its own use. In the Six Day War in 1967, the first fighting force entered the Old City via the tunnel. After its roof collapsed, the tunnel was sealed off for many years and the only remnant of it is the section that goes up from the Sultan’s Pool to the Bishop Gobat School on Mount Zion.
As part of the rehabilitation works, the tunnel got a new roof that is covered with Corten steel, on which 70 of Jerusalem’s names were engraved and through which sunlight comes into the tunnel.