A tour that will leave from the old Shaare Zedek cemetery and trace the history of the hospital. It will recount the story surrounding its founding in 1902 as the first hospital to operate outside the Old City walls, and how it primarily served Jerusalem’s Ashkenazi Jewish community. Participants will also hear the story of Dr. Moshe (Moritz) Wallach, the hospital’s founder. The compound, designed by the Templer engineer Theodor Sandel, consisted of three buildings: a building where patients were hospitalized and whose cellar was used for storage including medications, another building where patients with infectious diseases were hospitalized, and a building that was a residence for members of the medical staff. The buildings were surrounded by a large garden with livestock and water cisterns.
The 45-minute tour will be led by the tour guide, Yehoshua Lavi together with Dr. Yosef Wallach,a descendant of the hospital’s founder.
An art exhibition, which is part of the Jerusalem Biennale, is currently on display at the compound.