Restoration architect: Nahum Meltzer, 2010; a project managed by the Company for the Reconstruction and Development of the Jewish Quarter
The synagogue was originally built in the 18th century by Rabbi Yehuda HeHasid and was intended to be an Ashkenazi place of worship in the heart of the Jewish Quarter in the Old City. After the rabbi got deeper in debt due to construction-related expenses, the synagogue was torn down by the Ottomans – explaining its name “hurva” which is Hebrew for a building in a state of ruin. It was rebuilt in the 1860’s, only to be destroyed again in 1948, and this time by the Jordanian Legion. It remained a pile of rubble for many years, with only one of its arches intact. During this hourlong tour, the architect Nahum Meltzer from Meltzer April Architects, who was in charge of restoring the historic building, will talk about the works that were carried out at the site, which included a detailed reconstruction of the structure and its handcrafted elements, while sharing a number of anecdotes associated with the building.
Tour participants are requested to dress modestly.