Architect: Clifford Holliday, 1925
Tours of this historical building which overlooks the Old City walls and Mount Zion. It used to be an annex of the St. John Eye Hospital that was run by an order of British knights (now the Mount Zion Hotel). The tours will recount the story behind the building, including the courtyard designed like an Arab inn that features a room decorated with 100-year-old original Armenian tiles, as well as cryptic coats of arms of British aristocracy. There is also a copy of a silver scroll that was found nearby, which contains the oldest Priestly Blessing (Birkat Kohanim) in the world.
Tour participants will also visit the studios of the artisans working there today, who will demonstrate ancient and modern jewelry-making techniques. The tours will conclude with a guided view of the Old City walls and the Yemin Moshe neighborhood from the building’s rooftop.